top of page

University of Central Florida Travel Award

BGSA Travel Award in Memory of Boyd Lyon

The Biology Graduate Student Association distributes an award for conference travel to an outstanding BGSA member each semester to assist members in presenting their research.  This award was renamed the Boyd Lyon Memorial Travel Award in 2006 in memory of Boyd Lyon, a graduate student and a member of the turtle research crew who passed away while conducting turtle research.  Boyd believed that it was important for researchers to travel to conferences to present research, share ideas, and participate in the scientific community.

Past Recipients:


Miles Zhang

Spring 2018

Katie Mercier

Fall 2017

Hester Dingle

Spring 2016

Rhett Rautsaw

Fall 2015


Jason Strickland, Kendra Cope

Spring 2015


Derek Woller

Fall 2014

Vicki Villanova

Spring 2014

Derek Woller

Fall 2013

Molly Grace

Spring 2013

Simona Ceriani

Fall 2012

Sam Yuan

Spring 2012

Simona Ceriani

Spring 2011

Ashley Iketani

Fall 2010

Camille Brescacin

Spring 2008

Simona Ceriani

Fall 2007

Rachel Morgan, Tangi Smallwood, and Allyson Fenwick

Spring 2007



UILinternal_WGrgb_College of Graduate St
bottom of page